An open letter to teachers everywhere

Posted: November 21, 2010 in Education, Teachers
Tags: , , , , ,

Dear teachers,

Look, its not that we don’t appreciate you, we do, honest. I know it may seem like we don’t give a shit about you or your lives but when you’re coming in on a Saturday, we know you’d rather be on a date with the girlfriend or getting a facial much like the one I had to cancel to make it to the extra class. So as long as you don’t piss us off and do your job well, we like you.

That being said; What the fuck is wrong with you people?!

I feel infinitely better having said that. Allow me to proceed. You see dear teachers, when you give us the slides you teach us from in class, we tend to use it as a study guide because its how we studied it in class. Therefore, we do not appreciate;

1) Slides with ordinate designing. For God’s sake we’re not grading you on this, that’s your job. Please, stick with no design and black font. Not everyone studies via laptop, believe it or not. Most of us get the slides printed because we’re not going to lug our laptops to uni just for last minute revision. Thus, fixing your formatting? Not cool. Quit telling me not to waste my time when you’re the reason for it.

2) Vague references. Look, whenever I give presentations, I write very little on my slides, just one or two lines to help me remember what I’m supposed to talk about, and then I can take it from there. But see, I get graded on constantly reading from the slides. YOU DON’T. So if you write a lot of material on the slides, we don’t mind. Easier for us, quit being lazy. We can’t listen to you explain something and write it down at the same time. How can we, when we’re learning it for the first time?! And when the subject is a technical one, its even more difficult. So giving a heading of ‘ethnocentrism’ or ‘compounds’ or ‘public relations’ is not cool. (Funny story there, one time, during my PR paper I made a heading and accidentally wrote Pubic Relations and not Public. Thankfully, I caught the mistake and fixed it. The teacher’s a mullah so imagine the reaction. :D)

3) Shitty handouts. Look, if you don’t want to give us handouts, just say so. But giving us thirty pages of very tiny print to wade through which only has a five lines paragraph that’s relevent for us? Really? Kinda douchey of you don’t you think?

4) Lack of course outlines. No, we don’t care how new our strange the course is. You’re the damned teacher. Make it happen. We want a fucking outline so we know what we’re studying, capiche?

5) Dude, its a three hour session without breaks in between, okay? I don’t want to hear stories about you, you’re a shitty teacher as it is, give me SOME material to work with.

6) Just not teaching. A teacher of mine handed out course outlines two days before Eid break, and there was an entire topic full of subheadings in there; we did NOT study that topic. We pretended to, but he kept going on about Islam, terrorism, subheadings, Pakistan, etc. instead of global problems as the topic claims. Not. Fucking. Cool.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go do YOUR job and make your damned slides comprehensible enough to study from. Assholes.

Love, G.

PS: Some of you are totally awesome, and thus are excluded from this rant. You guys could shit all over us and I wouldn’t care because even your poo would be awesome.

Comments
  1. Sana Saleem says:

    Absolutely Right ! Most teachers take teaching very lightly. They teach the same way as you explained and also give marks leniently so the students get good grades easily and like the teacher. If you have a teacher like this, it means you are going to learn very very less. I remember I got 97/100 in a subject that I hardly knew……

    • Ghausia says:

      I know what you mean I may have gotten a B+ in management but I have absolutely no idea what the teacher taught, that is when she even bothered to come to class. She’d come twenty minutes late, teach ten minutes and then leave. The rector of my uni is very concerned about banning jeans to maintain discipline but the idiot can barely control his staff. Discipline among teachers ia a lot more important in order to do your job properly, but of course, we don’t give a shit about that, we care about the money.

      • Hamza Malik says:

        Now that was awesome! As if someone just took the thoughts from my mind and penned them down.

        • Ghausia says:

          Grrrr. I have to sit and make fucking notes which the fucking teacher was supposed to fucking give or at least EXPLAIN if he wasn’t so busy whining about how India and Jews and Amreeka and anyone that ISN’T a fucking Muslim is evil. I would love to tell him I’m agnostic one day, seriously. Fucker. I told myself I’d keep the swearing to a minimum here because it works out badly for you when prospective employers and family googles you but damnit I’m sick of this nutcase. The dude talked for ten minutes about how UFOs were real but inhabited by super-advanced and intelligent humans that walk among us and experiment on people to create a breed of superhumans or something. For. Fuck’s. Sake.

          My only form of revenge is telling on him to the course co-ordinator. Which I shall. πŸ˜€ *glee*

  2. Uncle J says:

    hahahahahahahhahah. You’re raving mad! But I have to say I would absolutely LURVE to meet your teacher. πŸ˜€ I love watching people such as himself (or is it herself?) piss their pants when they have no logical solution to anything. πŸ˜›

    PS: Its hamza. I’m logged into wordpress and Uncle J is my insanely awesome username on WordPress. :p

    • Ghausia says:

      I am eventually going to study, I swear. I’m waiting for my friend to get free so she can teach me over the phone. πŸ˜€

      You’d have probably liked my teacher last semester. Pervy offensive fucker. I had one INSANELY cool teacher last semester, I loved the guy so much, I used to bring him donuts before class(plus it was so amusing to watch him peek into the podium thing and beam at me when he found a DD bang in there:D) I haven’t been able to take any of his classes this semester because his subjects weren’t of my interest, but I really wish I could have, he was amazing. I have a serious case of hero worship with the guy. πŸ˜€

  3. haha, I know how that goes.

  4. My teachers have mostly been nice at uni ^_^ the ones that aren’t, we just skip their lectures, there is no attendance for lectures anyway, and nobody minds. Or we give them a bad evaluation so they don’t get chosen to torture the kids next year. At least, not on the same topic.

    The presentations point wasn’t that relevant, I mean, it takes two minutes or less to change the ornate designing and unless your printer is really shitty you won’t have trouble getting it on pages. The vague references one…well some people are better at making info filled slides and some people aren’t or don’t want to make the effort. Try asking them to. The rest really were annoying traits, but they’re pretty much limited to annoying people, and its just your bad luck really. πŸ˜›

    • Ghausia says:

      Eh, Bahria sucks, evaluations are a formality that gets thrown in the trash without a second look. 😦

      Dude, 25-30 slides per presentation, ten minutes in formatting each? Really? And its not about having a good printer dude, its a waste of ink printing useless pics that are of no help other than consuming large chunks of ink. And they claim that the ‘handouts’ have all the info. They don’t.

  5. Ugly Shoelace says:

    OOer. Someone is angry :D. *pat pat* *breathe in, breathe out* πŸ˜€

  6. LOL. I just ‘stumbled upon’ your blog today, as you put it and this post simply portrays my exact emotion toward some teachers. You are still lucky to go to a private university where teachers are somehow obliged to ‘teach’ something. I go to a public sector university and believe me, I am in final year and during these four years I have come across many teachers who wasted our entire semesters telling stories and bashing politicians and others (in the true outrageous sense of the word). Our communication skills’ teacher wasted 5 months telling us stories about his time in India and how much he hated Hindus :S Another teacher, who is a permanent faculty member wasted two of our semesters talking about how bad other teachers are. She even told us explicitly once that teacher is the ‘ mai baap’ here, so no one should ever try to mess around.
    Enough of ranting I guess, but your write-up provided me with a chance to vent out.

    Take Care πŸ™‚

    • Ghausia says:

      Wow, that sounds pretty shitty dude. 😦 My uni is semi-government so we get our share of crappy teachers. Last semester was a perv telling us about his almost hookup with a flight attendant (Again, no I don’t give a shit if you’re reading this because you’re a giant sack of shit and deserve no respect from me) and there’s the bigot this semester, the psycho who made us sit in segregation last semester, the fundie lady in first semester. List goes on and on.

      My blog is always good for ranting and venting. πŸ˜€ Nice to see you in the blogosphere, will check out yours. πŸ˜€

  7. Shahzaib says:

    I was just reading comment on Express Tribune blogs and finally landed in your blog. I can relate to your post to a great extent. One thing which I cant tolerate is SHITTY TEACHERS.
    Keep blogging. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

