Of koftas, and being pro-LGBT

Posted: May 23, 2011 in LGBT
Tags: , , , , , ,

This semester, I was tasked with publishing an online magazine for one of my classes. Throughout the entire semester, that’s all we’ve done; work on our magazines, the layout, the content, etc.

One of the first tasks we had was obviously, to pick out a theme. I juggled through a lot of different topics and couldn’t for the life of me figure out what I wanted to write about, until my teacher told me, “Ever since I’ve started teaching here, your emphasis has always been on them and their rights.” His reference was to the LGBT community, and I realized he was right. I’d been struggling with themes because I wanted something that mattered to me, and this was I care about a lot.

Before you ask, I’m straight. Toyed with the idea of being bi in my teens, but figured out that I only liked boys very quickly. It didn’t however, change the fact that I was very, very, very pro-LGBT. There’s never been any grey areas for me. There’s boys that love girls, girls that love boys, and then there’s boys that love boys and girls that love girls. Its as simple as that. And there’s nothing unnatural about love, even to a hardened, embittered cynic like me.

We’re all born into this world as equals. We all come from the same dirt. We all come in the same disgusting way. And we all deserve the same rights. Everyone has the right to get married to whom they want, to live where they want without fear of persecution, to be open about who they are without worrying about getting attacked for it, to be able to work and study without being discriminated against.

Back at my very shitty and very small-minded, conservative school, girls used to mock me. They’d say, “Ghausia, your antics will create bad karma and then your own kids will be gay, then what will you do?” I never could help laughing at such a pathetic attempt to belittle me, because honestly, all I could say was, “I’ll stop looking or a larka if its a girl, and look for a larki instead, simple.” And yes, that’s exactly what I’d do. I mean, what kind of an asshole mother would stop loving her kids just because they’re in love with the wrong gender?

Working on my magazine has been a un experience because I’ve gotten the chance to meet with some truly exceptional, lovely individuals. Seriously, I love these guys, they’re wonderful folks, and a better person than you or I could ever be.

In short. The LGBT community is just like you or me. We’re all part of this big ole glorious world. Deal with it. Peace, love, and equality people. Peace, love, and equality.

I’m gonna go eat my koftas now.

Comments
  1. Nuwas Manto says:

    Dear GRSalam,
    thanks for this wonderful post.Makes it more special once we know its coming from the heart of a straight sister and supporter. πŸ™‚
    However let me also point out that it would also take out supporters to come out streets with us when the time is right.
    Midst the crowd, I’d be searching for your face frantically.
    I hope this post softens the hearts of many a people
    Much Love
    Nuwas Manto

    • Ghausia says:

      Aww thank you for the kind words. πŸ™‚ I’d love to be out on the streets if I can. I’m too much a cynic to think it will be any time soon, but here’s to hoping. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

